x
x

Support

LEVEL 1 - ONLINE (1/29 - 1/30)

LEVEL 1 - ONLINE (1/29 - 1/30)

USA Weightlifting Level 1 - ONLINE 


As a result of the disruption to normal operations and worldwide guidance to limit group gatherings due to Covid-19, USAW began to offer, online Level 1 course opportunities.

This course is available to anyone seeking their Level 1 certification. Registrations will be accepted on a first come first served basis. Additional courses may be added so please check our course calendar for additional options. 


COURSE SCHEDULE:  

Saturday January 29 and Sunday January 30, 2021   

Day 1: Saturday (10:00AM -1:30PM (EST) / 9:00AM - 12:30PM (CST) / 8:00AM - 11:30AM (MST)  / 7:00AM - 10:30AM (PST)

Day 2: Sunday Morning Session:  (10:00AM - 12:30PM (EST) / 9:00AM - 11:30AM (CST) / 8:00AM - 10:30AM (MST)  / 7:00AM - 9:30AM (PST)

Day 2: Sunday Afternoon Session: (2:00PM - 4:30PM (EST) / 1:00PM - 3:30PM (CST) / 12:00PM - 2:30PM (MST) / 11:00AM - 1:30PM (PST)

COURSE LOCATION: 

Zoom Video Conferencing - a link will be sent via welcome email the week leading into the course. 

INSTRUCTORS:

USAW Coach Education - Staff

OFFICE HOURS:

Virtual 1:1 meetings can be scheduled via video conference by participants enrolled into this course. 


COURSE DESCRIPTION: 

In this multi-day course, participants will gain practical information about how to safely and effectively teach how to snatch, clean, squat, and jerk as well as how to best utilize weightlifting movements for beginner lifters and sport performance athletes.

A large portion of the course is hands-on teaching, coaching, and applying the USAW five-stage progressions of the snatch, clean, and jerk. Coaches will also have the opportunity to perform mobility assessments, coach major lifts such as squats and presses, and practice correcting common technique flaws in the lifts. Throughout the course you will learn highly effective coaching tips and cues from our veteran instructors. 

 

This course balances hands-on learning, in-depth discussions of technical progressions, and science-based programming information to help you refine your coaching skills. Gain access to proven training plans to get your athletes or clients started with Olympic lifting and enjoy the support of USAW to help you further your knowledge about training and coaching athletes. At the end of the course, participants should feel comfortable understanding and implementing a training plan, teaching beginner and intermediate athletes how to perform weightlifting movements, quickly correcting common technique errors, and employing best practices in coaching. Whether you are looking to get started coaching weightlifting, refine your coaching skills, or apply the weightlifting movements to other sports, this course is a valuable investment in your career.


COURSE MATERIALS:

The course is housed digitally inside the USAW Learning Academy and consists of eight comprehensive course modules, which can be accessed four weeks before the course begins and for as long as the coach remains certified.

Course modules include:

  • Weightlifting Safety
  • Effective Coaching
  • Physical Readiness Assessments and Mobility Solutions
  • Weightlifting Technique
  • Teaching Progressions and Error Correction
  •  Program Design
  • Weightlifting for Sport Performance
  • American Development Model
 

COURSE LEARNING OUTCOMES:

 At the end of the course, participants should be able to:

  • Teach beginner and intermediate athletes how to perform weightlifting movement
  • Develop and implement a training plan to improve sport performance
  • Articulate how to correct faulty movements in weightlifting
  • Utilize best practices in coaching weightlifting and assessing readiness to lift
  • Demonstrate the ability to use the weightlifting teaching progressions to progress or regress an individual

PREREQUISITES:

Registration for the course requires an active USA Weightlifting membership. There are no additional prerequisites for this course. The course is open to anyone 17 or older. No experience with coaching or performing the lifts is required. We routinely welcome beginners and seasoned veteran coaches in our courses.

CEUs/CECs: 

This course has a total of 8 synchronous contact hours and 5 asynchronous contact hours for a total of 13 course hours. The online course is not pre-approved for CEUs/CECs, though self-reporting of CEUs is possible. Please check with your professional organization for how to report this course. For exact reporting requirements, please see our FAQs here.


REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION: 

In compliance with our USOPC accreditation, participants must pass both the   Athlete Development Model training module quiz and Level 1 course certification exam to receive your USAW Level 1 Coach certification. For more information about the certification process, please visit our FAQs here.


WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? 

  • Weightlifting coaches
  • Strength and conditioning coaches
  • Personal trainers
  • Sport performance coaches
  • College and university students
  • Functional fitness coaches
  • Anyone interested in improving weightlifting technique

REGISTRATION INFORMATION AND PRICING: $499 until 12/31/21, $549 on 1/1/22

  •  All course participants must be current USAW members.
  • Pre-registration is required for all courses. On-site registration is not allowed.
  • The registration deadline is three business days prior to the first day of the course. Please contact [email protected] for inquiries about late registration.
  • Registration costs are nonrefundable. In the rare event a course is cancelled, USA Weightlifting is not responsible for any prepaid expenses incurred by participant. A refund or transfer to another date is available under this circumstance.


Benefits of Being USA Weightlifting Level 1 Certified

  • Industry recognition as a weightlifting coach from the sole governing body on weightlifting in the USA
  • Increased desirability as a potential hire when you seek employment in coaching and training
  • Access to USAW coaching materials to support your growth as a coach
  • Exclusive discounts for products, events, and services with USAW and USAW partners and sponsors
  • Ability to purchase affordable and comprehensive liability insurance
  • Membership with USA Weightlifting, enabling you to enjoy all the benefits of competition and camaraderie in the sport

Instructor’s Expectations of Students:

  • USA Weightlifting is the original and only provider of weightlifting coaching certification in the USA
  • Optimal blend of high quality content, experienced coaches, and hands-on learning
  • We are invested in your development and will support you as you grow in your career

Instructor’s Expectations of Students:

  • Students will come to class on time and prepared for class each day.
  • Students will complete required reading and turn in assignments on the appropriate date.
  • Students will actively participate in class discussions.
  • Students will ask questions in class or come see the instructor during virtual office hours if they need clarification on a class or assignment.

Have you used our platform before?

Yes
No

Not sure?

Check to see if your email address has been used to create an account previously. You create an account the first time you login or enter an event.

Please click below to login to your account.

Login
Back
  • Set Login Details

  • Name

  • Personal

  • Categories

  • Emergency Contact Information

  • Disability & Medical Information

  • Certification

x
x

Please enter an email address and create a STRONG password. Your data is valuable so please take password creation and use seriously. The email address and password you use will enable you to log into the USA Weightlifting Platform at any time..

This is your entry information or the information of the attendee you are acting on behalf of.

For more information on why we collect this information please see our Privacy Policy

mm dd yyyy

Sharing Disability with Event Organizers

Providing event organizers with disability information allows for better planning prior to your arrival at an event.

I certify all details are accurate to the best of my knowledge.
I certify all details are accurate to the best of my knowledge.

You’re nearly there! Use the buttons below to enter another person or pay for your entry.

Remember: If you haven't paid, your entry is not be complete.

Go To Cart & Checkout
Enter Someone Else